Types of Garnets - ICKINGER |

Types of Garnets

There are six main varieties of garnets:

1. The Almandine, the most commonly found garnet, has a deep scarlet colour with an orange to brown tinge.

2. The Andradite is the most lustrous of all garnets. There are three varieties – the rare Demantoid has a deep shade of green, while Melanite or black garnet is an opaque black and the Topazolite has a yellow colour while some varieties also include a brownish hue.

3. Grossularite is made up of several varieties, each with unique features. The most common are Tsavorites, which has a deep shade of green that is similar to emeralds, and Hessonite has a distinct orange to orange-brown hue.

4. The Pyrope has the signature scarlet colour associated with garnets. Their colour can range from a vibrant scarlet to violet. The Rhodolite, a blended species, is a mesmerising deep red with a violet hue.

5. The Spessartine is the rarest and admired for its translucent lustre. Often called Garnet of the Sun or mandarin garnet, these gemstones can range from a pale yellow to a deep reddish-orange.

6. Uvarovite is a soft garnet distinguishable by its emerald green hue. They form in small, uniform crystals making them extremely rare and valuable.

January 28, 2020

The Garnet: How to find the perfect gemstone

History and Features of the Garnet Birthstone Garnets, the January birthstone, are best known for their vibrant red colour. However, they are more commonly found in […]